Skip to content

The Spaghetti Incident

February 11, 2011

The other night, Owen was enjoying a veritable feast of baked chicken, peas, carrots, and shredded cheese (all served as finger foods) as well as some leftover strawberry puree from a few days ago that I was trying to get rid of. I generally try to eat dinner at the same time–occasionally eating the same thing that Owen has, although usually not. This has never been an issue before. However, as I sat down last night with Owen and began to eat my lovely bowl of whole wheat spaghetti with roasted garlic tomato sauce, all hell broke loose. My normally happy, obedient little 10 1/2 month old suddenly began to pitch a fit–grunting, whining, and gesturing wildly towards my bowl. This kid wanted spaghetti, and he wanted it NOW.

I’m afraid our baby food days are over, friends.

So what does this mean for the fate of chowdownbaby? Well, a lot more finger food recipes, as well as recipes more appropriate for baby-led weaning. My baby is growing into a toddler, and with him, this blog will be growing into a toddler-food blog. (That is, if I can ever get it together enough to write the actual blog!)

Anyway, cue the music and fasten your high-chair trays, because I think we’re in for an adventure.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

