Skip to content

Chicken Balls….or, How Not To Write A Recipe….

January 19, 2011

This is the first “recipe” I ever wrote. Verbatim. I had posted on my Facebook page that I had made “Chicken Balls.” (Cue my “Beavis and Butthead” 12 year old boy laugh.) A friend asked me for the recipe…..And because I’m not someone who can resist sharing my expertise (even when I’m far from being an expert on a subject) this was my reply:

You need:
–Ground chicken. I don’t know how much. The package cost $3.11. I don’t know how much the price was per pound. I suck at math and I can’t visualize, but I’m gonna guess it was 2/3 of a pound. And that’s probably accurate within a third in either direction.

–Some leeks. Maybe half of the white part of one leek. Minced.

–Organic whole wheat seasoned breadcrumbs. The Whole Foods brand. Of course, you don’t have to use organic, but I’m weirdly paranoid that if I don’t feed Owen organic food, he’ll grow up to be a big fat loser. On the other hand, the chicken I bought wasn’t organic chicken, because I couldn’t fine organic ground chicken. And also, I was feeling rebellious. Against who, I don’t know….myself, probably. I’m in a Mompetition with myself.

–One egg yolk.

–Some Parmesan cheese, grated.

Sautee the leeks in some olive oil until transparent. While you’re doing that, combine all the other ingredients in a bowl. When the leeks are done, mush with your fingers until it’s all mixed together. Roll into individual “balls” of questionable shape and varying size. Return to the pan that you cooked the leeks in and sautee until they’re not pink in the middle and therefore, probably won’t give anyone salmonella or e-coli.

If you’re anything like me, the “meatballs” will A) fall apart and B) probably have to be put through the baby food grinder because you didn’t chop the leeks enough. But they will taste fantastic! Enjoy!!!

PS: They really were quite yummy. It was Owen’s first experience with leeks and only his second or third one with meat (he was about 7 1/2 months old or so at the time) but he did, in fact, chow down on these.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

